UKC

Tenerife car hire, any horror stories?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Blue Straggler 10 Feb 2020

Hi, I am off to Tenerife for just over a week quite soon and probably renting a car there, from the airport, from a major provider, not "Rhodium" or "Orlando" or whatever. Hertz, SIXT, Avis etc. 

I know I am inviting people to recount horror stories of poor service and "enforced" fees and claims for non-existent damage etc but really looking for the opposite, for reassurance. 

Bear in mind I've been hiring cars about 10-15 times a year for the last five years both for work and for leisure, in the UK, Ireland, Canada, USA, Germany and Italy (Sardinia) and never had an issue, so I am fairly confident that I won't get scammed. I have an external third-party insurance policy including CDW etc. Never had to use it in anger though!

I am vaguely aware that some of the apparently big operators sometimes run as franchises (is that right?) so there are some locations to be wary of....or is that just "bloke in the pub said" nonsense?

Frank R. 10 Feb 2020
In reply to Blue Straggler:

Sorry to "disappoint", no horror story from me 

Read about some of the scams, found a seemingly ok local company (Autoreisen?), got a reservation (no credit card was required, I don't use plastic debt), got a cheap car, drove around, dropped it off on departure. No scam, no problems. Sure, the car was somewhat scratched up and had a nearly empty gas tank, but I just took photos of the gauge and the exterior for reference and put in the exact same amount of fuel when returning it. In the end, nobody much cared at all. For 10€ a day I couldn't care less about some scratches and neither did they.

In reply to Frank R.: