UKC

USA insurance medical costs

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 JMarkW 18 Jan 2018

Heading out on a bouldering trip soon to the US.

Was thinking of topping up my AAC insurance with but the single trip top up with KNOX via the AAC, but it only covers upto 500,000 euro medical. 

Does that just too low for the US? Snowcard gives 10million. 

I tempted in this case to go belts and braces.

Cheers 

Mark

Martin Bennett 18 Jan 2018
In reply to JMarkW:

I have had the same dilemma a number of times. In the end decided the Knox upgrade was insufficient for USA and got cover from Sportscoverdirect.com because for me, being elderly, the age loading of BMC and Snowcard premiums is outrageous.

Sprtscover are good to deal with when buying. I have no experience of their efficiency when claiming.

dsh 18 Jan 2018
In reply to JMarkW:

It depends on what you think will happen and your risk aversion but  you will probably want more.

Prices in US hospitals are very high for many reasons, but one that will relate to what your costs may be in an incident is that the health insurance companies always negotiate a lower price within their network.

For example, I recently had a bad ankle sprain that I couldn't walk on so I went to the ER as I thought it might be broken. I was only there for an hour, an x-ray and medical "services" (giving me a bandage and crutch) and a couple of minutes with a doctor the prices my bill came to $1500 (that my insurance paid most of), however the price before the insurance company discount was ~$25,000.

I can imagine if you had a bad accident where you were hospitalized for a couple of weeks, you could easily rack up a huge bill in excess of $500,000 if your insurance company does not negotiate a price with the hospital you would be going to, (much more likely with travel insurance). 

Now a bad accident like this may be unlikely bouldering, but anything could happen, car crash etc.