UKC

7000m peak in your mid 50s

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tonker 11 Jun 2021

Anyone done this?

I have plenty of alpine experience and made one trip to the Andes before stopping serious climbing 11 years ago.

I'm now 47 and have suddenly got the urge to get myself up a 7000m peak before I pop my clogs.

The only realistic way of doing this will be when I retire, which all being well will be in 8 years time at the age of 55.

I am fairly fit now but am well aware this declines with age and is more marked in your 50s.

Please share any experiences.

Removed User 11 Jun 2021
In reply to Tonker:

Eminently doable, though of course depends on your objective.

With 8 years you could get several hundred quality days and nights of climbing in to lead up to it, plus some general conditioning, and so long as you stay injury free and healthy you'd be at no real disadvantage.

What sort of objective are you thinking? 

VictorM 11 Jun 2021
In reply to Tonker:

There's guys in their fifties and sixties running marathons. As long as you keep yourself in a healthy and fit state I wouldn't know why this would be an issue at 55. 

You might not be the fastest or the most technically adept but you'd definitely make a good chance to make it to the summit. Wasn't it Uli Steck who said that due to the massive amount of stuff to learn alpinism is an old man's game anyway? 

Axel Smeets 11 Jun 2021
In reply to Tonker:

Perfectly doable. My climbing partner is now 62. Over the last decade we've been together on a 6,900m peak, two 7,500m peaks and an 8,000m peak. 

I'm hoping to follow his example when I reach my 50s and I'm no longer tied down by young children. 

OP Tonker 11 Jun 2021
In reply to Removed Userwaitout:

> Eminently doable, though of course depends on your objective.