UKC

Climbing Everest - Training Advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Joshmackintosh 21 Dec 2017
Hi there,

I am 24 and am looking to summit Everest in around 5 years time (Although if I do not feel I am ready this date can easily be moved). I have limited experience with climbing and am looking for advice as to what training regimes people found most valuable and useful for their trips to Everest. I understand this is a costly and challenging endeavor and I would greatly appreciate any wisdom some more experienced climbers can offer.
 profitofdoom 21 Dec 2017
In reply to Joshmackintosh:

One factor is it depends on whether you want to pay for your Everest trip by going with a commercial venture like Jagged Globe or not. Such companies usually have guidelines on their websites about the climbing experience required, you could read that first. Also those trips are expensive you might like to start saving up, I would
 jonnie3430 21 Dec 2017

Why do you want to do it? It's not really a mountaineering objective if you go with a guided group as you'll be dragged up by guides with all your kit carried by porters.

Best would be throw yourself whole heartedly into climbing, going from rock to winter to alpine and getting really hill fit, once a mountaineer you may find that you want to spend the cash doing many interesting climbing expeditions instead of one Everest exped though.

Or do a lot of running including lots of hills.
 Ben_Climber 21 Dec 2017

Be very fit and very wealthy.

Go and climb lots of things in alps and gain experience. Then you will realise there are plenty of better things out there to do than Everest.

Ben
 JLS 21 Dec 2017
Everest isn't be a popular topic here on UKC as the general view is that Everest bagging is a bit of a circus done by the wrong people for the wrong reasons.