UKC

Stoves and pots - mostly theoretical

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mcawle 04 Mar 2021

On the couch in London dreaming of higher and snowier days.

Been reading a bit about bigger expedition-style climbing - multi-day, higher altitude or winter, melting snow for water. Maybe Denali, similar.

I have no experience thereof although some ambition and idly musing. Say small group, 2-4 people, and perhaps a system that could also work on smaller trips where you might not be hauling (e.g. could get into a 40-50L climbing sack for bivi).

For those with experience of such, what systems have people settled on for stoves and pots?

The presumption seems to be towards white gas stoves e.g. Whisperlite/XGK type stoves in the US. Obviously Windburner/Reactor types are an option too. Am familiar with pros and cons of canisters in cold/at altitude and various tricks there, and of course the importance of seed water to start melting.

Assuming liquid fuel, what sort of size and material of pot? (Titanium doesn't conduct heat as well as aluminium but can be made thinner so perhaps nets off?) Steel an option I guess e.g. old school MSR Alpine pots but heavier and seems in the middle for conductivity.

2L pot at minimum I guess. (Maybe benefit in a bigger pot if hauling and if more than 2 people.)

Shape: low and wide or tall and narrow (boiler shape)?

Heat exchanger? I see some pots have one inbuilt and also separate ones available e.g. MSR or home made. Worth the weight in fuel savings and speed of boil?

Interested in anyone's thoughts.

Post edited at 20:46
 crayefish 04 Mar 2021
In reply to mcawle: