UKC

swiss alpine club route portal: worth the money?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 wjcdean 16 May 2023

Hi, do any of you use the SAC route portal and do you think it is any good/worth the subscription cost?

I'm looking for some route descriptions and topos around the Evolene area (specifically dent de tsalion) and the only English guide (as far as I'm aware) is the old AC one, which is very light on words and pictures. The routes I'm looking at are on the SAC portal, but it's a bit hard to work out if they are particularly useful or whether I'd be better off picking up a guidebook.

thanks all

Jesse Nagel 16 May 2023
In reply to wjcdean:

I have a subscription to the portal, I get great value from it. I use the German version however, since the English version is somewhat scant. I get the most value from being able to look at the old guides in PDF form as these cover pretty much every piece of rock in Switzerland (Including some dubious routes...), but these are all in German or French. So, I don't know if I would use the portal if I could only use the English descriptions.

Looking at the Dent de Tsalion for example, the normal route has a description in English which is decent. But the West Ridge only has a German description. The most popular mountains should have an English description, but for these mountains you can often find similar descriptions in English on other (free) websites.

OP wjcdean 16 May 2023
In reply to Jesse Nagel:

thanks Jesse, my German is pretty poor so I'd probably have to plug it in to google translate, but it's normally pretty good at that sort of thing. 

Are there good topos included? or is it more of a red line scrawled over a photo taken from a kilometre away?

cheers

Will

Jesse Nagel 16 May 2023
In reply to wjcdean:

Topos vary quite a bit, those included with sport/trad routes are usually decent. Those included with high Alpine routes (Hochtouren) are okay at best and non-existent at worst.