/ Wanted: , vf kit

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
afshapes (user since 18/Feb/10)14 Jun 2019

Any vf kits out there for sale ? Cheers

gethin_allen 14 Jun 2019
In reply to afshapes:

If you can't find one second hand have a look at decathlon. They have a simond kit for £40. I've just bought one. It seems well made if a bit heavy but I've never used one before so I don't know if that's normal.

Neil Williams 14 Jun 2019
In reply to gethin_allen:

They generally are quite heavy as with a potential factor 5+ fall to deal with they need to be strong and the krabs need to be able to deal with loading in all directions e.g. side loading.  What you tend to pay for in pricier kits is krabs designed for easier release and features like rotating joins between the screamer and the lanyards so it doesn't get twisted.

Post edited at 09:27
cragtyke 14 Jun 2019

The simond ones are fine, but the grab lock type krabs are a bit easier to use. Have a look at Screwfix for fingerless gloves.

GavClayton 16 Jun 2019
In reply to afshapes:

I have a mammut set-up. Don’t think it’s ever been used. My brother bought it wanting to do a trip, but never went. Pm me for pics?

cheers,

Gav

GavClayton 16 Jun 2019
In reply to afshapes:

So I wondered why I couldn’t find any similar sets to mine currently on sale and...they aren’t safe! Apparently after a fatality, various brands had recalls on sets. My Mammut Y setup is listed in this recall video which might be worth watching if you’re looking at second hand sets. I’m going to send mine back to mammut so am not offering it for sale any more, sorry.

https://www.desnivel.com/material/material-noticias/llamada-general-a-la-revision-de-sets-de-vias-ferrata-basados-en-sistemas-de-friccion/

ps video does have subtitles!

afshapes 16 Jun 2019
In reply to GavClayton:

No worries,  thanks for the heads up ! 

gethin_allen 16 Jun 2019
In reply to GavClayton: