UKC

Call for some UKC feedback on climbing/outdoor trousers

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Hello all,

I'm a textile design student/climber and next year will be starting my final yea. I am unsatisfied specifically with the outdoor clothing market's offering for women's trousers and would like to develop a range of casual/semi-technical trouser fabrics in response to this. I'd be really grateful if I could have some feedback from you ukc lot about what you buy and what you would like to see on the market. OPEN to MALE and FEMALE feedback to get a general overview!

I've just created a super short 10 question survey and if you'd complete it for me that'd be great and a good launchpad for my research.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/7Y9DF38

Hope you're all enjoying the increasingly sunny weather!

Jen x
 alasdair19 02 Jun 2014
In reply to Jen 'Banksy' Banks:

I buy most of the trousers in our house and my wife has so far been really pleased with what I've bought her. What do u see as short comings?

for the girls I think things have got much much better in last ten years.
 keepguessing 07 Jun 2014

As a guy i guess i cant really comment but for me when looking at a some climbing trousers i all ways look at cut things like articulated knees and gusseted crotch are essential if im going to buy them as it shows a certain standard of quality it also shows that it's not just a fashion piece. Also for rock climbing bungee cords at the hems seem to be pretty popular but, a more versatile fit would be a nice trim fit somthing that can be worn with rock shoes or with big mountain boots(providing the fabric can stretch over the boot).
 rgold 08 Jun 2014