UKC

Chainsaw

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ffati 27 May 2020

I'm after a bit of advice my chainsaw has died (was a old thing given to me by my grandad think he got it as they were a free be with a model t Ford) so in need of a new one.

I know I don't want a electric one as I need to use it in a field which is several miles away from a 240v socket. Have used my tree surgeon friends little battery makita saw which is awesome bit of kit. But I'm unsure of its strength as a all day cutting trees clearing a paddock kinda tool. 

Any recommendations on ukc

Fozzy 27 May 2020
In reply to ffati:

Husqvarna 435 for hedges & smaller stuff up to 14” diameter, 455 Rancher for everything else.  

cwarby 27 May 2020
In reply to ffati:

That well known bit of climbing gear, especially needed for getting to the crag at the moment!

Dom Connaway 27 May 2020
In reply to ffati:

Fozzy is right. Back in the day when I was cutting for a living the equivalent Stihl saws were also well regarded, if pricey.

That said,  I'd have a chat with your mate about run times, battery sizes, etc. While I'd be surprised if you can get one that will run all day (btw is it big old hardwoods or young softwood? Huge difference in power needed) I'd far rather have a battery powered saw if they're equivalent in performance to a petrol. No trouble starting from hot and a good bit quieter. Less maintenance too.

Dom Connaway 27 May 2020
In reply to cwarby:

If Maestri can use a compressor surely a chainsaw is legit? Besides, the OP may be a special advisor...

OP ffati 27 May 2020
In reply to Dom Connaway

The makita is for chopping stuff before going in the chipper. 

Would be a mix of everything really have a load of old seasoned oak I need to chop up and I'm cutting back a load of old sycamore in the fields at the moment. And fencing bloody fence posts I hate fencing!

I just think that I would forget to recharge a battery I know I always do with my flipping drill.