UKC

Choosing between DMM pivot or Gri Gri?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
emily_climbing1 15 Oct 2018

Title says it.. not sure whether to get the pivot or Gri Gri. I am just starting out outdoors so don’t lead yet, but would like to be able to set up a top belay for top rope climbing, so wondering what would be best to lower from the top. I have read the pivot and other devices like this are not so good at lowering a whole pitch, but more so just to give slack. On the other hand the gri gri would be simpler to use, especially when having others belay, but have seen the handle get jammed against the rock when anchors are above/ on top of the cliff (not on cliff wall). What are your thoughts? 

MischaHY 15 Oct 2018
In reply to emily_climbing1:

If you're talking about use in guide mode fixed direct to an anchor then the grigri is superior for the exact situation you're describing because lowering is way easier than with a guide plate. 

*However* 

I get the impression you've mixed up your systems because I've very very rarely been in the position you describe. Best ask your climbing partners who are teaching you or failing that get on a trad course and get the skills nailed so you know you're safe. 

In reply to MischaHY:

yes was talking about guide mode, should have stated that. This was actually the way I was taught from a trainer (using a gri gri), just wanted to get some more opinions before I bought. 

How would you do so differently if... I wanted to set up a top rope rig as I am not comfortable with leading yet, and wanted to top belay for multiple reasons. such as... quicker/ more convenient to derig and move to a new climb, and also if the rope isn't long enough to bottom belay. 

Paul Hy 15 Oct 2018

Gri gri in Trad is a NO NO.   

> not sure whether to get the pivot or Gri Gri.