UKC

hexs or nuts - what to buy first?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The Potato 06 Dec 2013
Im fairly new to outdoor climbing, will be doing up to v.diff probably but with a more experienced friend and his gear. Ill be taking my wife on some moderates and some grade II or III scrambles and was wondering what to get first (i know a few sets of each are ideal but £££ is always a factor).

If you suggest one or the other, or a few of each - what sizes would be most useful?

Ill be around snowdonia mostly if that makes a difference. Thanks in advance people!
 martinph78 06 Dec 2013
In reply to owena:

A set of nuts will usually give you more placements and are generally easier to place/get the hang of.

1-10 is a decent set, but if I'm doing mountain diffs I'll usually take a half set (so 1,3,5,7,9). I don't place gear on scrambles though...
 Dan Jam 06 Dec 2013
In reply to owena:

Nuts would be a far better investment. I started my trad rack with a full set of DMM Wallnuts and found them great. Its hard to say which sizes would be most useful but all of my DMM set have seen countless placements.

Don't get hexes, they're really annoying and hard to place well until you have a fair amount of experience with them (I have a full set of hexes and I've placed 2 or 3 of them maybe 6 times each...). Good luck!!
 csw 06 Dec 2013
In reply to owena:
They're not really an either/or proposition - Hexes go where wedges won't and vice versa. - It's easy to imagine more placements in the size range that wedges fit, but what about that one difficult move that your biggest wire is too small to protect? I'd hesitate to set off on any mountain route without big gear.

Hexes aren't particularly hard to place and they have more placement options than wedges. Persevere with them
Post edited at 19:18
OP The Potato 06 Dec 2013
In reply to csw:

ok, so lets say i got a set of 1-11 wallnuts and then what size hexs do you find most useful?
 Otis 06 Dec 2013