UKC

Ice Axe Advice Please!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Superchop75 22 Dec 2012
Looking to invest in a new pair of axes shortly.
I basically want a good all rounder that'll do me up to Grade V.
My current thinking is either the new Flys or some second hand new model Quarks.
Any advice on either or other suggestions would be most welcome.

Cheers all!
 Radioactiveman 22 Dec 2012
In reply to Superchop75:

the new flys are £100 each on theoutdoorshop or £110 @ field and trek

Went on sale just after I bought a set. As for what to go for no idea I am new to winter
 iksander 22 Dec 2012
In reply to Superchop75: Reactors
In reply to Superchop75: Don't buy the flys. spend a bit more and get the quarks. you might even find someone selling some 2nd hand though they might be the old style which are still better than the Flys.

That said, I do like the look of the new DMM range!
In reply to Superchop75: Why not go for a new pair of quarks?

You can get them for £243, if you get Go Outdoor to price match at 10% less than the £135 each they are from the Outdoor Shop http://www.theoutdoorshop.com/showPart.asp?part=PN19526

Or you can get BD Reactors for £240 from the Outdoor Shop http://www.theoutdoorshop.com/showPart.asp?part=PN5322
 steveshaking 22 Dec 2012
In reply to The Ex-Engineer:
> (In reply to Superchop75) Why not go for a new pair of quarks?
>
> You can get them for £243, if you get Go Outdoor to price match at 10% less than the £135 each they are from the Outdoor Shop http://www.theoutdoorshop.com/showPart.asp?part=PN19526
>
> Or you can get BD Reactors for £240 from the Outdoor Shop http://www.theoutdoorshop.com/showPart.asp?part=PN5322

Or the old flies for £170 pair and have change for some ice screws.
Its difficult. Yes you might want to upgrade in a couple of years. So spend more now, or save your money and see how the flies go?