UKC

leightweight Softshell, long term durability

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
c0sinus 16 Jan 2018

Hey folks,

Im currently looking for a breathable and durable 3 season (mild summer day)-softshell with a good hood.

After reading some forum discussions and reviews i am considering the ME Squall or Arc' Psiphon FL.

I do have a PertexQuantum&Pile Windjacket which will be too warm for summer and is also too unbreathable. The jacket should be more breathable then Pertex but more wind resistant then a Nano Air. So i guess between 15 and 40 cfm?

Since both jackets are pretty lightweight i do have some reservations about long term durability, especially when wearing under a backpack. As a budget concious student i'd like to make the most capital out of my buy, knowing that no jacket will last forever. Both brands offer burlier jackets and i'm not sure if i should upgrade and sacrifice the low weight and maybe some breathability for long term durability. Also the Rab Torque would be an option as a midweight softshell.

The jacket will be used mostly for all-day use on the campus, hiking to a crag and climbing their and some use mountaineering in the alps (which raises the long term durability concerns when being worn for several days under the shoulder straps).

I'd appreciate if anyone can share his experience with those jackets, especially regarding durability.

Mark Haward 16 Jan 2018
In reply to c0sinus:

I've had light weight soft shells including the old ME Astron Hoody and recently the Montane Dyno Stretch and its predecessor for many years. Used climbing summer and winter plus many alpine and ski seasons. The only damage I've managed is a small hole put in by someone else with an ice axe. Mind you, I try to avoid chimneying. 

I can't speak for the specific models you've highlighted but the ME Squall certainly looks good.

nathan79 16 Jan 2018
In reply to c0sinus: