UKC

Query on VF gear I've just hired

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
SteveN1 10 Sep 2020

I'm a new user and have just hired VF gear in Switzerland for my second VF outing tomorrow (we did some VF in Dolomites a few yrs ago). We own harness/helments (we are novice climbers) so have just hired the lanyards.  The shop gave us an additional sling/snap-gate krab each 'for extra safety' saying it should be attached from the top harness loop to the lanyard krab (bottom hole). But I don't understand - as far as I can see the sling would act in a fall to prevent the friction brake from extending, or just break. I'm not experienced (obviously!) but this seems dangerouls to me as all I've read about slings/VF says 'no!'. Have I misunderstood?  I'm minded just to leave the sling at home.

trouserburp 10 Sep 2020
In reply to SteveN1:

You're right! 

In reply to SteveN1:

If I’ve understood what you’ve written correctly, you use the lanyards as normal when moving. The idea of the extra krab/sling is so you can clip in hard to a rung or whatever, and have a rest. When moving the krab can just be clipped out of the way to a gear loop.

Hope this makes sense.

spenser 10 Sep 2020
In reply to SteveN1:

The way in which they have described using it seems dangerous if you are moving with that arrangement (i.e. sling and VF kit in parallel).

Tom has described a safe way of using the sling which is potentially useful (depending on how steep the VF is and how long you can hang on for).

If you are climbing a steep set of stemples keep the VF kit on the cable (if no cable clip alternate stemples) and then if you need a rest just clip the sling into a stemple above you and gently transfer your weight onto the sling, leave the VF kit in place as a back up (try not to have to do this on a busy VF as you might wind up with a guide using your face/ helmet for a foothold).

In reply to SteveN1: