UKC

Tips for climbing down 15 m apartment brick wall

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
ClimbWestwood 14 Jan 2014
Greetings!

I'm a beginner in climbing. I want to buy a rope and I have searched and found one that seems good: http://www.amazon.de/Tendon-Smart-Lite-8mm-Kletterseil/dp/B009PLI5U2/ref=sr... (the site is in German, but I hope it's understandable what kind of rope it is anyway).

I want to start by checking with people who know climbing if this rope can be recommended. Please tell me if you think it's good.

Then I have a question which is quite specific, but I would really appreciate help with it. I want to climb down a ~10-15 meter brick wall as fast as possible. I'm wondering what would be the easiest way to do this? The upper part of the rope will be inside an apartment building and the rope will hang down outside the outer wall of the building. The wall doesn't have any balconies or similar, the wall is almost completely flat.

So, for a setup which is "good to go" as fast as possible, what would you recommend to have besides the rope and how would you make the setup?

Thanks in advance!
Climb Westwood
Janice Prong 14 Jan 2014
In reply to ClimbWestwood:
Don't climb, jump. It'll get you to the bottom far quicker than climbing.

(Well, you did specify "quickest", not "safest". Besides, I suspect the billygoats you have milling around at the bottom will provide a suitable crashmat.)

Failing that:
Recruit a suitably goat-loving friend to move the goats out of the way, attach the rope securely to the bridge you are lurking under, and abseil. Try to stop before you hit the bottom.
 sbattams 14 Jan 2014

did you want to abseil with the TV in the other hand or will you have both hands available to work with.

What are you going to tie the other end of the rope to, Coffee table, dining room chair?
 Jubjab 14 Jan 2014

the slowest way is climbing. Abseiling is faster and jumping is faster still.