UKC

tree project.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
simon1984 04 Jun 2019

hi. total newbie here.

My daughter is 6 and climbing is her number 1 thing in the world to do. done indoor walls etc, but have a 10 metre ish tree in my garden and have seen stuff online about putting the holds on it. easy enough making sure they sit flat etc. what i need help with is the set up, im thinking an anchor sling with aluminum alloy rings at the top. the one ive seen says 22 kn, which when googled this means 2200kg?

From that 2 screw type carabiners through this, with the screws opposite to one another. then rope through to belay and climber. Lastly rope seems a mine field to me, what mm rope , brand , special spec, would i need? Any help would be much appriciated. cheers in advance

MeMeMe 05 Jun 2019
In reply to simon1984:

Hi Simon,

I've got a few questions...

How are you attaching holds to your tree? I'm not an expert but if I was drilling into my tree I'd be worried about damaging its long term health.

That aside though, you could easily setup a top rope anchor with a couple of slings and some screw gates, I'm not sure you need any rings, you can just attach directly to the screw gates.

How are you going to get this setup to the top of your tree?

The rope bit isn't complicated, any climbing rope would do but since you won't be carting it around get a thicker one rather than a thinner one as it'll be harder wearing. You're only going 10m up so you don't need a long rope (they are usually 50/60/70m as standard) so find a shop that sells them off a reel or sometimes you get shorter ropes mostly used for indoor walls.

I'm guessing you've already done some belaying if your daughter is into climbing? If not then I'd do an introductory course somewhere so you know what you're doing.