UKC

Which hard shell?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 goatee 29 Jul 2020

I fear my Rab Latoc jacket is past it's best. To be honest I have never found it to be particularly waterproof. In snowy cold conditions it is a great jacket but I feel I need to return to Gore Tex to try and cope better with rain. What to get??. Some are silly money, which I could not justify buying. But a durable jacket, suitable for mountaineering and not super heavy is what I am in the market for. I'm hoping to get some  suggestions from the UKC collective. I have no experience of Alpkit jackets ( as well as many other brands) but I have an old Delta tent and I was well impressed. Suggestions would be most welcome.

Thanks

Stephen

1philjones1 29 Jul 2020
In reply to goatee:

Magic Mountain currently have the Mountain Equipment Verbier jacket at half price (£125). It may suit what you’re after? Or the Shivling if you want Gore-Tex pro.

Post edited at 18:36
 JB 29 Jul 2020
In reply to goatee:

I bought a Montane Ajax for c £150 which is about £100 less than RRP. It's prob towards the heavier end of the scale as jackets go but v nice fit, great hood and have worn it all day in the rain and emerged more or less dry underneath. It would be tough enough for mountaineering I would say. Prior to that I had an aging Rab event which deteriorated to the point it could only stand about an hour of rain before leaking like a sieve. So the Montane is a great improvement. 

OP goatee 29 Jul 2020
In reply to 1philjones1:

Cheers for that. I will check it out. My budget would be up to double that. Not the silly 5 to 6 hundred of some brands.

Dave the Rave 29 Jul 2020
In reply to goatee:

You can normally get the ME Kongur MRT for sub 350. Got one for 300 and it’s a nice jacket. I paid 300 for a Changabang in 2000 and it lasted 15 years.

Gav_92 30 Jul 2020
In reply to Harry Ellis:

Even at full price its a good value jacket, thats almost theft getting it so cheap