UKC

Which headtorch?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Roberttaylor 06 Mar 2013
I've got a Petzl Tikkina which is nice and light for OMM, camping trips etc. I am looking for something a bit more powerful for mountaineering, winter climbing etc.

I have narrowed it down to the Petzl Myo XP and the Black Diamond Icon.

Which of these would you recommend, and why? Are there any other similarly beefy lamps I should look at?

Cheers,

Robert
 craig1983 06 Mar 2013
In reply to Roberttaylor:

Lenser H7R.... its the dogs danglies for a fraction of the price of the Petzl
 fizzpup 06 Mar 2013
In reply to craig1983: suppose 2/3 is still a fraction
 neuromancer 06 Mar 2013

You can get h7's on ebay, search ' cree zoom head' for luke 6 quid?
 thedatastream 06 Mar 2013

Also consider Princeton Tec Apex
 PondLife 06 Mar 2013
In reply to Roberttaylor: I've been using a Petzl Myo XP for many years without a problem. It's been used on alpine trips, camping and DIY around the house. I would probably buy the same again even though the LED Lenser torches are cheaper and brighter.
ice.solo 06 Mar 2013

icons are good but really heavy. unless you really need 200 lumens, consider something at about 100 which will be lighter, fit in a pocket and on a helmet better.
OP Roberttaylor 06 Mar 2013
In reply to craig1983: Looks good, I might go for the H7R. Can it be used with lithium batteries as well as alkaline? I assumed so.

R
 aldo56 06 Mar 2013
In reply to neuromancer: Are the "cree zoom head' toches any good? Mega cheap!
 neuromancer 06 Mar 2013

It appears that the entire led lenser range is made in the same factory / is effectively identical to the chinese led headtorches. For confirmation, go to led lensers website and look at the h11; then go back to ebay and notice the same torch, same moulding, same band, same cables, all with options of battery and for 14 quid.

This is from someone who owns an h7r, likes it, but was dismayed to discover the above.