UKC

Which sunglasses and where to buy

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
pascoa341 09 Mar 2012
I'm new to climbing and need a new pair of sunglasses to use both on and off the mountains. Having lurked a bit on the forum I can see that there are plenty of options availabe, from cheapies to £200+. Personally my budget is limited to around £80. From what I read Cebe and Julbo may be ok at this range.

However, where on earth does one buy these in the Lakes (found one Julbo dealer in Ambleside, but they only had pretty hardcore type sunglasses that you would not want to wear during the day)? Are there any other brands that are ok in that price range, and where can you buy them in the lakes (also travel to Leeds and Shrewsbury sometimes, so anything in that area would be ok as well)? I hope this has not been discussed to death yet, but thought I'd ask.
 bluebealach 09 Mar 2012
In reply to pascoa341: Oakleys - some of the main High Street opticians carry a range.

I got mine from Vision Express in Blackpool.
 two06 09 Mar 2012
In reply to pascoa341: Bloc make some alright looking sunglasses. Cotswolds stock them (I think there is one in Ambleside).

d_b 09 Mar 2012
In reply to pascoa341:

Having used both wrap around sunglasses and round lenses with screens I can say I prefer wrap arounds these days, as they don't knacker my peripheral vision so badly.

Most of the brands are as good as one another, but remember that it's a bad idea to drive with a category 3 or 4 lens.

I think I have some dirty dog polarising sunglasses for driving and bloc for the hills.
 LastBoyScout 09 Mar 2012
In reply to pascoa341:

Julbo Nomads - Cat 4, about £55 from Cotswolds and fit me perfectly.

Otherwise, I've got Bloc glasses as my cheap ones and then 3 pairs of assorted posey Oakleys
 franksnb 09 Mar 2012