UKC

New OS Maps website

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 BRoss 28 Oct 2021

I have a yearly OS subscription and use their website a lot to check 1:50000 and 1:25000 maps and print map areas of interest. Recently they have invited subscribers to go to the 'new home' for OS Maps. However on 27/10/21 when trying to print out sections of 1:50000 maps I ended up with a much poorer quality of print and an erroneous scale at 1.65-1.70cm/km, as opposed to 2.00cm/km. I filled out their customer feedback form the same day to highlight those issues but have received no reply. The condition appears to be the same this evening (28/10/21). Has anyone else found a problem with the new OS format?

CantClimbTom 28 Oct 2021
In reply to BRoss:

Haven't tested it yet, but very end of Aug I printed what I thought was 1:25,000 (leisure) but it was actually 1:50,000 map rendered at 4cm per km. While scratching my head wondering why a dry stone wall wasn't showing on the map, the penny dropped. DOH!!!  

Hope their new site is better

Baz P 29 Oct 2021
In reply to BRoss:

I don’t print out maps but I wonder if this is a printer instruction problem. I would try taking a screen shot and printing that.

deepsoup 30 Oct 2021
In reply to Baz P:

It's a feature not a bug.  

They have the facility to print 'Explorer style' or 'Landranger style' maps at a variety of different scales so it's possible to print what would usually be the 1:50k map at a 1:25k scale - it is a wee bit confusing.  I generally find it's easier to 'print' to a pdf and have a look at it to make sure it's what I want before printing on to paper.  (Then I also keep the pdf so it's easy to print another identical copy in the future if I want one.)

I'm currently finding that the new version of the website prints with an annoyingly large border at A3 compared to the old one - it wastes some of the paper and produces a map that isn't quite as big as it could be.

In reply to BRoss: