UKC

OS map routes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Ex nihilo 13 Mar 2022

Anybody having problems with the record route function in the OS map app? I used to use it heavily to record and share routes and it worked nicely. Last few weeks the routes jumps violently around the page to places kilometres away from anywhere I’ve been. The GPS on the phone works just fine on other apps such as Google maps. OS does not respond and I see no settings that might account for this. It is a really useful feature, you can export the routes to Google Earth when it’s working.

campagman 13 Mar 2022
In reply to Ex nihilo:

I am very new to GPS mapping but heard some good things about OS so tried the app. However, I have had exactly the same problem that you describe and had put the problem down to my cheap Huawei p8 lite phone. It would suit me if it is the app that is playing up as I was looking to buy a new phone.

Philip 13 Mar 2022
In reply to Ex nihilo:

I had a problem when my phone decided to sleep the OS app when not in the foreground (or screen off), this can mess with the location.

Tony the Blade 13 Mar 2022
In reply to Ex nihilo:

I've have used OS maps substantially for the past 4 years and have never experienced your problem.

I do, however, have an issue with saving (to PDF) and printing on the upraded version - the printed version prints at roughly 40m short per km. I have to revert to the older version and that appears to be ok.

In reply to campagman:

> I am very new to GPS mapping but heard some good things about OS so tried the app

Not sure where you heard that, or how much experience the 'reviewers' had with other apps, but the OS app seems to attract a lot of negative comments, deservedly so, IMHO. About the only benefit compared to other apps is access to OS mapping. Fortunately, I have access to an alternative source for use with a decent mapping app.