UKC

/ Camino de Santiago

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
mypyrex - on 25 Mar 2018

Has anyone done it?

Having been watching the progress of Ed Byrne et al I'm just wondering, apart from the length, how strenuous or demanding it is.

Obviously the programme is edited but there seems to be a lot of moaning about what appears to be relatively easy walking on obvious paths.

Post edited at 21:30
syv_k - on 25 Mar 2018
In reply to mypyrex:

I am heading off on Wednesday to do this. The first two weeks or so will be with a friend, then she has to go back to work and I will finish it solo. She will do the second half next year. 

I have never done a multi day trek before but don’t anticipate too many problems as I do a fair bit of walking. However the cold snap is a problem - I had planned lightweight clothing and shoes, and my pack is under 5kg, but hearing that the mountain bits are under three feet of snow is making me worry a bit about being underequipped. But taking big boots for one or two days and then carrying them for another thirty isn’t great either. There is one mountainous bit at the start and another three quarters of the way through .

I am hoping that when I come back I will be nice and fit for my annual Via Ferrata holiday in the Dolomites, even if I don’t get any spiritual insights along the way.  

Post edited at 22:04
Mark Collins - on 25 Mar 2018
In reply to mypyrex:

I'm enjoying the programme but haven't done it. For those that don't know, there is also a feature film starring Martin Sheene, "The Way".

mypyrex - on 25 Mar 2018
In reply to syv_k:

Thanks for your comment. I shall be interested to hear about your progress.

I know I may be wrong but having seen it on tv it looks, compared to other walks I've done, pretty straight forward, even a doddle.

I'll be interested if anybody contradicts that opinion

mypyrex - on 25 Mar 2018
In reply to Mark Collins: