UKC

Tryfan with a five year old?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ralphio 04 Aug 2020

Taking my five year old camping in Ogwen next week and am contemplating how wise it might be to take him up the north ridge. 

I've scrambled up it a number of times but always by the most interesting/difficult line. Subsequently, I've no experience of how easy it is to skirt the difficulties. Also, the last time I went up it was probably 6 or 7 years ago so my memory probably isn't the best on which to make a judgement. What are people's thoughts? He does a lot of walking, 3 or 4 miles. Has been up Win Hill and we do a lot of scrambling round Higgar Tor and Stanage.

Any alternatives still with a bit of scrambling interest but at a safer end of the spectrum? I seem to remember the walk up Y Gribin having a bit of easy scrambling?

Thanks 

profitofdoom 04 Aug 2020
In reply to ralphio:

> Taking my five year old camping in Ogwen next week and am contemplating how wise it might be to take him up the north ridge. 

Others may disagree with me, but personally I wouldn't do it - child a bit too young, walk/ scramble a bit too exposed

Mick r 04 Aug 2020
In reply to ralphio:

I think there are a lot of options on the normal path near the top for a bit of fun.  No need to commit to the ridge 

james mann 04 Aug 2020
In reply to ralphio:

I took my nephews aged 6 and 8 at the time up Tryfan from idwal cottage and then up the s ridge. We came down via cwm Tryfan. It was great weather and they thoroughly enjoyed it and were keen to do more in the hills. They are both very outdoorsy and used to walking. The n ridge is not so easy to escape from in the event of poor weather/problem/the unpredictability of children. The choice is ultimately yours but so is the responsibility. 

James 

JIMBO 04 Aug 2020
In reply to ralphio: