Loading Notifications...

Mont Blanc Gouter Route

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
 myradio 03 Jan 2021

Hi all,

Planning to go to the Mont Blanc next summer. It is not set but my first idea was trying to get very early in the season. I would like to know whether someone is planning in going and wants to team up or maybe I can join a group.

My idea is to do it without a guide. I am not a real expert but have done some +4k already and I have been studying this one considerably.

Just let me know.

cheers, 

Mark Haward 04 Jan 2021
In reply to myradio:

I hope you have a safe and successful climb. I suggest you fill out your profile some more so people have a better idea of your skills and experience.

In reply to myradio:

Good luck.

A friend and I did the Gouter route unguided with minimal winter mountaineering experience summer before last - I'd done a basic 3 day Scottish winter mountaineering course a couple of years prior and I climb. My friend had no real experience to speak of other than a number of multi day backpacking trips.

We had a week in Chamonix and spent the days before acclimatising with some trail runs up high, hanging about up at the top of Aguille du Midi and hired an instructor to spend a day with us doing skills on Mer du Glace (my friend's first time in crampons).

We got the first tram from Saint-Gervais-les-Bains up to Nid d'Aigle. From there, it's a pretty simple hike up to the Tete Rousse - a couple of icy areas where we had to take extra care where the trail narrows before the Tete Rousse but nothing too bad.

They have mountain police at the Tete Rousse who will check you have a reservation at one of the huts, if you don't I've heard you'd be sent back down so make sure you have one.