/ starting out in winter

Please Register as a New User in order to reply to this topic.
tonyg9241 - on 06 Feb 2019

Hello all I am looking to start some winter climbing I have all the basic kit crampons ice axes etc can any one help to get me started 

many thanks

Tony

Blair2904 on 07 Feb 2019
In reply to tonyg9241:

Hi Tony, I am too starting out winter climbing. This is my first season so trying to build up my experience which it tricky when not got a partner to get out with on a regular basis. Feel free to get in touch and we can sort something out and get out this winter. I am still pretty new to it but have loads of rock climbing experience and really keen to get out more.

ena sharples - on 07 Feb 2019
In reply to tonyg9241:

if your budget allows, take a course in winter climbing/mountaineering. Avoids getting into bad habits from the off and you should learn a lot just by watching the professionals in action.

tonyg9241 - on 08 Feb 2019
In reply to ena sharples:

hi thank you I have looked in it but just out of my budget unless there are some last minute places going cheep 

Tony

Rigid Raider - on 08 Feb 2019
In reply to tonyg9241:

Glenmore Lodge.

ena sharples - on 08 Feb 2019
In reply to tonyg9241:

Think that is unlikely, sadly. Perhaps if you and a mate could hire a guide for a day or two that would go a long way to covering the basics? (Ice axe self arrest, moving on steep ground in crampons etc)

pasbury on 08 Feb 2019
In reply to tonyg9241:

You don’t have to do a course or pay any money to anyone to go up mountains in winter. But it is a potentially dangerous activity so judge your ability before going out. I can’t tell you if you’re ready or not.

If you think you’re not ready to go out on your own then, to avoid spending, find more experienced people through a club, social network or on this site.

Babika - on 09 Feb 2019
In reply to pasbury:

Sound advice.