UKC

A device that reduces electrical surges and saves 20%???

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 John Workman 25 Jun 2013
A company called Energy Saving or something like that cold called me last night trying to sell me a product that connects to my electric consumer unit in my house and which they say will reduce electric bills by 20% - they say it works by reducing electrical surges. I'm no electical engineer. Is this likely to be a scam or does anyone have any experience of such things. They tried me on cavity wall insulation and loft insulation first. They wouldn't tell me even approximately what it would cost to install.
I live in Fort William - if that makes any odds.
 Blue Straggler 25 Jun 2013
In reply to John Workman:

I am no sparky but if "surges" comprise 20% of your electricity useage then I imagine that there is something very wrong with your supply. My money is on "scam"
 EeeByGum 25 Jun 2013
In reply to John Workman: Is it a surge protector (they exist) and a fancy name for a smart meter? Smart meters can save you electricity because they show you what appliances are using what electricity. That said, many electricity companies will give them to you for free.
 DancingOnRock 25 Jun 2013
In reply to John Workman: It depends how clean your supply is and what kind of load you have.

I'll try not to get to mathematical but your meter can only read power consumption as volts x current. If you have a certain type of load it can affect the way the current is affected by the voltage. In a normal resistive load the current is at a peak when the voltage is at a peak. Most houses are like this. In an industrial situation you can have a lot of motors that affect the current and hold it back due to the way current works in a coil. This means that the power you read on your meter will be different to what you are actually using. This can be fixed by fitting capacitors to your supply. It's called power factor correction.