UKC

A teacher somewhere in your neighbourhood tonight...

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 FreshSlate 26 Oct 2013
Anyone else seen this doing the rounds?

"A teacher somewhere in your neighborhood tonight is grading and preparing lessons to teach your children while you are watching television. In the minute it takes you to read this, teachers all over the world are using their "free time", and often investing their own money, for your child’s literacy, prosperity, and future. Re-post if you are a teacher, love a teacher, or appreciate our teachers."

This is normally accompanied by a baffling picture of a man with a folder open looking stressed, with the lamp on reading... whilst it is full daylight outside!

Please read and tell us what you think. A bit bemused myself.
 woolsack 26 Oct 2013
In reply to FreshSlate: The last one of these I saw was for nurses
 French Erick 26 Oct 2013
In reply to FreshSlate:
I am a teacher and I say bollocks to that!
Work hard, sure. Be professional, compulsory. Pretend to be a martyr...sod that!

It's a good job. It remains just a job. I am convinced that doing that description is doing everyone, including the kids, a disservice.
What about your family? What about giving kids an unrealistic picture of the world? Very few people will ever dedicate that time to you, so why rely on them? What about yourself- can you still be a good teacher if you roll in class tired and stressed? I think not.

Anyways, that is my opinion. I am sure some people will disagree with me
 VPJB 26 Oct 2013
In reply to French Erick:

I'm confused by your comments. Whose family? Why rely on who?
 timjones 26 Oct 2013
In reply to FreshSlate:
> Anyone else seen this doing the rounds?
>