UKC

Air BnB Host, what should I do?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Godwin 25 Aug 2022

I have booked some digs in Morocco in November, so plenty of time.
I have a confirmation from Air BnB and from the host.
Then a message from the host saying
"Bonjour 
C'est occupée désolé"

The booking though does not appear to have been cancelled. Is he saying "Yipee, we are busy" or "we are busy, and no room for you"

I have messaged for clarification but not got a reply, but I guess a House on a hill in the Anti Atlas, might not be checking emails all the time.

Not really sure where I am with this now.

plyometrics 25 Aug 2022
In reply to Godwin:

My basic French says this translates as “hello, it’s busy, sorry” which suggests they’re not able to honour your booking.

Hope you get it sorted. 

65 25 Aug 2022
In reply to Godwin:

-Hello. It's occupied. Sorry.-

There could be a simple enough explanation. I'm no Airbnb expert but I'd hope they have measures in place to sort this out.

OP Godwin 25 Aug 2022
In reply to plyometrics:

Yes, that is how I read it. I just assumed that if that was the case, The Host via AirBnB would start a cancellation process.
I could cancel, but would rather not, as I could have misunderstood or they could have accidentally sent the message to the wrong person.

Offwidth 25 Aug 2022
In reply to Godwin:

Happens all the time. Hosts have pretty loose requirements to honour a booking if they have any 'genuine' problems.

https://www.airbnb.co.uk/help/article/2022/can-a-host-cancel-a-reservation-....

Things are more stringent for customers but vary according  to the listing contract.

https://www.airbnb.co.uk/help/article/475/cancellation-policies-for-your-li...

OP Godwin 25 Aug 2022
In reply to Offwidth:

Thank you. I rarely use Air BnB, generally only when I will be arriving within a day or two. This is one of the reasons why, as the AirBnb and the host seem to have all the cards stacked in their favour.