UKC

Democracy - over-rated?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Wiley Coyote2 06 Feb 2018

I don't want to hijack the Suffragette thread so here's a separate one with a genuine question that's prompted partly by the coverage but also a thought I've had for a long time.

What's the big deal with democracy? I've been voting since 1970 and in all those years I've never felt I  had any meaningful say in who became my MP because although I've lived in a few different constituencies they've always been  seats where a donkey in the right coloured ribbon would win. Sometimes a blue donkey sometimes red but the donkey would always have won. When people trot out that hoary old line 'You should be grateful. People died so you could have the vote' I can't help thinking "Well they really should not have bothered because it was pretty worthless."

In the West we worship democracy (or the illusion of it). It's an unquestioned article of faith like 'The NHS is the envy of the world' but looking round the world I wonder how much damage has been caused by promoting or even imposing democracy on others. I wonder if, for example, the average Iraqui  felt better off under a functioning dictatorship  where at least the taps worked? Or the average Libyan?

mudmonkey 06 Feb 2018
In reply to Wiley Coyote2:

Democracy is about a lot more than voting in a general election every four years. 

For example, you have the right to stand for election against the red/blue donkey, form a political party of your own, freedom of expression (including this forum), a free media, trial by a jury of your peers and presumption of innocence, freedom of protest, freedom of assembly......

I could go on all day. I suspect you might miss some of these if you lived under an oppressive regime and not view them as "pretty worthless."

I agree that attempting to impose/establish democratic societies in places like Afghanistan or Iraq from outwith is a good deal more questionable though.