UKC

DIY - plasterboard over an old fireplace hole

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 elliot.baker 30 May 2023

I've had a gas fire removed and the pipe sealed off by a plumber, I want to cover the hole over now (about 50cm wide by 70cm tall). I've bought a piece of plasterboard and some plasterboard adhesive already but I've never used them before. I've got loads of offcuts of timber I could use to make battens if I needed to.

The main thing I don't understand how to do is to make sure the new piece of board is flush with the existing board on all three sides (left, right and top) because the board is the same thickness (12.5mm) but the existing board is on with dot and dab so is a few cm away from the blockwork that forms the chimney /gas fire hole. 

The only idea I have at the moment is to cut away enough of the existing plaster to show a good few inches of block wall around the fire place, then perhaps screw lengths of wood to the back of the plasterboard to make it be the same depth as the existing wall - but just not sure how I'll ever get it bang on (or near enough). Once it's in I'll use filler around the crack.

Any ideas!!? Thanks

Edit: the other idea I had, and this might be over-complicating it, was to temporarily screw a timber all the way across the front of the new board and the old board, screw it into the existing wall and the new piece whilst the plasterboard adhesive sets, in the hope this would hold it in place (flush), then unscrew it once it's set and fill the holes in...

Post edited at 13:27
Removed User 30 May 2023
In reply to elliot.baker:

It doesn't have to be totally flush as you will be adding scrim tape across the joins and skimming with 2/3 mm of plaster.