UKC

First time Self Assessment woes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
So after many years of being "off radar" as a PAYE person I got the dreaded letter through the post earlier last year.

So I filled it out online and because I am a very simple case (one income, no second homes etc) it was relatively simple.

Then at the end it tells me I owe £3k! FCK, why's that? So I call them up, 30 mins on hold..eventually it seems my tax code is wrong. How can that be? HMRC provide it to my employer. So I tell them my new tax code for this year (2012/13) and they say that is wrong as well!

I am now speaking to payroll at my firm to try and understand how this system works and how my tax code could be consistently wrong for the last two years.

Now, I don't expect to be able to wiggle out of this, but has anyone had similar experience and do they have any advice?

cheers
GoC
In reply to Game of Conkers: Ive been here twice.

As a company car driver I have been hit by the fact that my company has not advised the revenue that i have changed my car and in one year they didnt advise the revenue that i had a car at all. £ks to pay the following year.

You have two options, pay it in one or have it spread across the next financial year. Im not sure if you can spread the underpayment over more than one year.
 Neil Williams 08 Jan 2013
In reply to Game of Conkers:

Why, if you have one income, have you ended up with a tax return? You shouldn't need one.

Was it a random check, or did they suspect something was wrong and want evidence to correct it? Do you for instance have large savings?

Neil
In reply to Game of Conkers: Yes, through mid year salary changes - it has compounded so each of the last three years I'd done overpayments but the tax was still wrong so the next year has overpayment requirements too. Got it again this year. Doh!