UKC

How long for antibiotics to work

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 girlymonkey 17 Mar 2021

I got a bite of some sort which seems to have turned to cellulitis. The pharmacist yesterday gave me antibiotics, so I have been on them for 24 hours. So far there is no improvement. Is it too early to expect improvement or should I be getting concerned? Time to call 111? 

im off 17 Mar 2021
In reply to girlymonkey:

Hmmm🤔.

It probably shouldn't be getting worse. I had a wound that progressed to cellulitis. I remember the red swollen inflamed are growing so went back to docs. 

Got a temperature, feel ill/ fluey etc?

I'm not a doctor btw😂.

(Vet)

Oh....did they swab it for culture? Make sure you're on the right antibiotic.

Anyway...hope your leg/arm doesn't fall off.

OP girlymonkey 17 Mar 2021
In reply to im off:

I don't think it's any worse, but not really any better either.

No, didn't swab. I nearly didn't even ask about it. I had put antisan on it, assuming it was just a bad reaction. The antisan did nothing so when I was in Tesco and it was bothering me, I thought I would ask if they had a different anti allergy cream with a different active ingredient. She looked at it and said it was infected and prescribed me an antibiotic. I didn't even know they could do that a supermarket pharmacy! She just looked though, no swab.

I feel fine other than that.

I hope my leg doesn't fall off too!! I find it pretty useful!

gerryp6gmg 17 Mar 2021
In reply to girlymonkey:

if red area on skin draw around it with felt pen. If red extends beyond pen line tomorrow ...see a Dr (insist)

believe me

SDM 17 Mar 2021
In reply to gerryp6gmg:

> if red area on skin draw around it with felt pen. If red extends beyond pen line tomorrow ...see a Dr (insist)

My doctor was very good with this. It's normally impossible to get an appointment without spending weeks playing the 9am phone lottery.