UKC

I took my oldest to uni today

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 bleddynmawr 11 Sep 2018

The child that made me a parent, and changed my life forever, went to Uni today. She was excited and happy, but why did I cry all the way home? Is this normal? We don'y even get along all that well!!

Welsh Kate 11 Sep 2018
In reply to bleddynmawr:

It's normal.

Be glad that she's excited and happy - hope that it continues in this vein!

Dave the Rave 11 Sep 2018
In reply to bleddynmawr:

Result. Congratulations! The only problem is that if you’ve no younger kids then the wife’s eye will be focussed on YOU! A bit like the Eye in Lord of the Rings.

profitofdoom 11 Sep 2018
In reply to bleddynmawr:

> why did I cry all the way home? Is this normal?

In my opinion it is completely normal. It is a sad and difficult day for many parents. Feeling sad for [what seems like] your loss, and [often] worry about them

Next actions? I'm no expert but suggest 1. keep in close touch with her, and visit her [she'll like that probably], 2. welcome her home when she visits and make her visits good for all of you, 3. try to let go, 4. focus on those left behind with you

Graham Mck 11 Sep 2018
In reply to profitofdoom:

Taking my daughter to university on Saturday.  Not looking forward to it at all.  Need to hire a removal van for all the stuff she plans to take!!

Pete Pozman 12 Sep 2018
In reply to Graham Mck:

This theme comes up every year at this time. I wailed like a baby when my daughter went off to uni. You think it's a rite of passage for them not you . Turn around. And you are at her graduation. So quick... it goes so quick. 

BusyLizzie 12 Sep 2018
In reply to bleddynmawr:

Just about to take my youngest. Wails...

wilkie14c 12 Sep 2018
In reply to bleddynmawr:

taking oldest lad down to Penryn campus on friday. Just about the furthest away he could possibly be. I too will be crying. Tears of joy.

OMR 12 Sep 2018
In reply to bleddynmawr: