UKC

Lab Grown Food

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

An uncharacteristically optimistic article from George Monbiot. The consequences of this could be so far-reaching but perhaps they are exactly what the world economy needs in order to shake itself into climate action, but  I would probably consider re-purposing my business though if I was a farmer.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/jan/08/lab-grown-food-destro...

Alan

In reply to Alan James - Rockfax:

> An uncharacteristically optimistic article from George Monbiot. The consequences of this could be so far-reaching but perhaps they are exactly what the world economy needs in order to shake itself into climate action, but  I would probably consider re-purposing my business though if I was a farmer.

> Alan

I've always wondered if Vegans would have any issues with lab grown food.   Stem cell cultures grown into bio-scaffolds to form meat.

I'd be interested to know the objections . 

TWS

Dax H 08 Jan 2020

Sounds too good to be true but occasionally too good to be true turns out to be true. 

The biggest downside though will be the loss of the humble hot dog, without the lips and arse holes to grind up I can't see the hot dog retaining its taste. 

In reply to Dax H:

> Sounds too good to be true but occasionally too good to be true turns out to be true. 

> The biggest downside though will be the loss of the humble hot dog, without the lips and arse holes to grind up I can't see the hot dog retaining its taste. 

I see an opportunity to expand into the black market food stuff sales.

Andy Hardy 08 Jan 2020

So patent holders will control all the food in the world. What could possibly go wrong? After all, a free market outcome is always going to be best for the population in general <cough>

In reply to Andy Hardy: