UKC

Languages at school- did/ didn't you like them and why?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 French Erick 24 Jun 2013
Time and time again I am told it's down to the teaching in this country. Just read research that would show that Germany does not do it that much better...but they seem to all speak 1/2 Foreign languages well.

I am an ML teacher: why do people hate my subject so much? is it because it is hard work, irrelevant to pupils' lives, unnecessary?

I have so much fun with languages, I seem to be unable to remember not having fun with them. This could mean I am a geek but I am ok with that.

Thanks for your input.
 Tall Clare 24 Jun 2013
In reply to French Erick:

I studied French to A-level then went on to spend some time in France as part of an ERASMUS exchange at university.

Most of my French teachers were appalling and were determined to wring any enjoyment out of the subject, and one of them was just, well, creepy. I don't think I made it through the entirety of a single lesson at A-level without wandering off in search of something more interesting to do. The reason I enjoyed the language was because all my family holidays were in France so the language felt relevant and interesting.
Tim Chappell 24 Jun 2013

At O Level I collected languages because I was good at them, at any rate good at reading them, less so at writing, speaking or hearing them, and it was points on the board to compensate for my slightly dodgy sciences. I did Fr Ger 2x English Lat Gk and half way to Russian. I'd have done Sp and It as well if they'd been available. I'm still good at languages, but still much better at reading them than writing, speaking, or hearing them.

But then, I am definitely a geek.