UKC

Living in a Shed

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Don'tTellHim Pike 27 Apr 2013
Does anyone here live in a shed?
 Kelcat 27 Apr 2013
In reply to GrumpySod: nope, but I do spend a lot of time in it as its my office. Next project is to put a wood burning stove in.
There are people down the lane from us who live in a converted shipping container, there power is wind & solar.
In reply to Kelcat: Thanks. Reeson i ask is that I have no famly and want to spent all my money on things like walking and travel. I dont want to be tied to or have the expense of a house and wondered if a farmer might let me put a shed on his land to live in.
 Neil Williams 27 Apr 2013
In reply to GrumpySod:

Don't think that is legal...

Neil
In reply to Neil Williams:
> (In reply to GrumpySod)
>
> Don't think that is legal...
>
> Neil
What - living in a shed or putting it on someones land?

Kelcat 27 Apr 2013
In reply to GrumpySod: I'm not an expert, but there was a farmer near here (Lakes) who put unauthorised (by the planners) statics on his land & they repeatedly sued him till he was bankrupt & the people in the statics were evicted.
 the power 27 Apr 2013
In reply to GrumpySod: campervan in a layby
 tlm 27 Apr 2013
In reply to GrumpySod:

http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/273088/Banned-the-couple-who-live-in-a-she...

This lot didn't like it because of the lack of running water.

Why not live in a small caravan instead? It must be as cheap as a shed second hand?
 paul-1970 27 Apr 2013
In reply to GrumpySod:

Interesting philosophical and human rights issue this. What does one do if one does not want to live in the state?

You could build a log cabin or make an arrangement around a shed, but you're still on someone's land. You could live in a cave, but you're on someone's land. You could live in a tree. But the tree is on 'someone's land'!