UKC

Masked thugs in black kick off in Madrid

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 stp 26 Sep 2012
Unedited footage from anti austerity protests in Madrid (last night I think)

youtube.com/watch?v=nLhAfRyLGvM&
 off-duty 26 Sep 2012
In reply to stp:

Those anarchists really do know how to hijack a protest don't they. I though it was awful how that female protestor starts shouting at them - looks like telling them to go away.
nickyrannoch 26 Sep 2012
In reply to stp:

meh !!

there seems to be a bit of back and forward there and if I was a police officer in those circumstances i think I would be a bit on edge given the numbers involved.

EeeByGum 26 Sep 2012
In reply to nickyrannoch:

> i think I would be a bit on edge given the numbers involved.

I agree. But I would also hope that as a riot police officer, you would have received training in how to handle such situations so that you weren't on edge and be able to do your job in a controlled and level handed manner. Given that all the police waded in together, my guess is that they were given an order to charge and let hell loose. Good job that never happens in this country!

TobyA 26 Sep 2012
In reply to stp: There is worse footage of violence of both police and demonstrators. youtube.com/watch?v=UDCRgqspmyU&

Police firing either tear gas or rubber bullets into a metro station, pouring down escalators onto platforms causing panic (by metro lines - are they . WTF?) Crowds dragging down loan police men and kicking them on the ground. Small groups of police getting hit with furniture from larger groups of rioters. Shop keepers seeming to try and protect their customers from police and rioters. Police hitting people coming out of shops. Police battoning people standing still in the metro etc.

It's not pretty.
 Bimble 26 Sep 2012
In reply to stp:

At least they are sticking up for what they believe in.
Removed User 26 Sep 2012
In reply to EeeByGum:
> (In reply to nickyrannoch)
>
> [...]
>