UKC

Millgram and Obedience or How to belay from the top!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Cobra_Head 18 Apr 2022

I'm half way through belaying my partner up a route I've just lead, and someone rushes over to tell me how wrong I'm doing it, because I'm stood up!

My legs will buckle and I'll be pulled to the ground, apparently. I should sit down and belay from a sitting position, because I'd never be able to hold them, should they fall.

I've been climbing for 20 years and often stand up when belaying people up a route. I've had people fall a number of times, often people much heavier than me.

I was belaying a couple of ladies, much lighter than me probably by at least 4st or more, so about 8st!

Given this, and I have a healthy disrespect for authority, why did I comply?

I actually sat down and belayed from a sitting position?

Not sure I'll be doing it again, though it was all a bit bunched up to be honest.

broken spectre 18 Apr 2022
In reply to Cobra_Head:

> Given this, and I have a healthy disrespect for authority, why did I comply?

You're not the Messiah, you're a very naughty boy!

broken spectre 18 Apr 2022
In reply to Cobra_Head:

You could have told him it's less abrasive on the rope and you can see and communicate better with your seconds - Or to mind his own business? Although I'm ready to be corrected

ExiledScot 18 Apr 2022
In reply to Cobra_Head:

They were factually correct in what they said, but clearly wrong in the way they communicated it. You were still safe and with a weight difference, limited slack, unlikely to be pulled down. Plus if it's not steep you won't be holding their weight for an extended period of time, more than survivable! 

Ideal world: sat right on edge, tight on anchors, line of sight with second and no risk of rope going tight over leg. We can't always have ideal world. Maybe they'd had a bad weekend. 

john arran 18 Apr 2022
In reply to Cobra_Head: