UKC

Pension Contributions (one-off payments)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 James Malloch 28 May 2021

I'm a contractor working via an Umbrella company (so I'm taxed on normal PAYE, but just employed via an intermediary). The Umbrella limits my pension contribution to 4% (+ they add 3%) but I'd like to pay more in. 

I've had a few calls with them and their set-up means I can't do it via them and I'd need to make contributions as one-off payments out of my post-tax income. 

I'm struggling to work out if I'm able to reclaim tax/NI if I were to make these payments given it would be made from post-tax income. Due to a separate (business) income source I fill in a self-assessment each year so could it possibly be done via that?

Also - I only made the 4% payments last tax year. I read something about being able to still make pension contributions within a certain number of months from the previous tax year. Given I still need to submit my self-assessment for 2020-21, does anyone know whether it's possible to make these contributions late?

Any advice would be welcomed! Thanks

In reply to James Malloch:

> I'm a contractor working via an Umbrella company (so I'm taxed on normal PAYE, but just employed via an intermediary). The Umbrella limits my pension contribution to 4% (+ they add 3%) but I'd like to pay more in. 

> I've had a few calls with them and their set-up means I can't do it via them and I'd need to make contributions as one-off payments out of my post-tax income. 

> I'm struggling to work out if I'm able to reclaim tax/NI if I were to make these payments given it would be made from post-tax income. Due to a separate (business) income source I fill in a self-assessment each year so could it possibly be done via that?