UKC

RAF - 100 years

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mypyrex 30 Mar 2018

On Sunday the Royal Air Force celebrates its centenary.

Personally I shall be thinking of my grandfather. Having joined the Royal Engineers in the early years of the twe tieth century he was attached to the Army Balloon regiment. This evolved, following experiments with heavier than air aircraft, into the Royal Flying Corps. My grandfather was assigned a two digit RFC number and qualified as a pilot in 1912. He saw service in France and, on 1st April 1918, became one of the very earliest members of the RAF when the RFC amalgamated with the Royal Naval Air Service. Sadly he died in 1961, before I really got interested in flying. I would have loved to have taken him for a ride in a Tiger Moth on which I learned to fly.

When I was an active private pilot I often wonder if he was sitting up there keeping a watchful eye on me.

tehmarks 30 Mar 2018
In reply to mypyrex:

A fantastic story, the early aviators military and civil were very brave and very inspirational men. My own grandfather served in the RAF voluntarily in the 50s, and though he rarely talks much about his service it had a profound effect on me as a teenager; until losing interest at university due to the government of the day I always aspired to join the RAF, and it's his influence which has led to me now pursuing a career in the Army.

It's funny that, having amalgamated the RFC and RNAS to form the RAF, by the time the Second World War came about both services once again had their own flying corps under their own command in the form of the Army Air Corps and the Fleet Air Arm.

elsewhere 30 Mar 2018
In reply to mypyrex:

I'll make a toast to my four uncles who served in the RAF.

Welsh Kate 31 Mar 2018
In reply to mypyrex:

Great story