UKC

Rope access engineering?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Max Hangs 05 Dec 2012
So...I graduated this summer with a degree in Mechanical Engineering and have now been working for 6 months for a small firm in an office environment.

It's a good job and I'm so thankful for having found work so quickly, but in the long term I'm gonna have to get out and about more as part of my job if I'm ever going to enjoy it. Being in an office 40 hours a week isn't my dream.

I've always been intrigued by the idea of rope access work as I think it would be a lot of fun and it seems to pay pretty well! I reckon the time would fly in comparison to my current job.

However, ideally I would use my degree (as opposed to cleaning windows etc) as the pay would clearly be better and I think I'd find it more stimulating.

My question is...are there many rope access jobs out there for Mechanical Engineers? It would be good to hear from anyone with knowledge of the sector.

Thanks in advance
 rlines 05 Dec 2012
In reply to robaj: Have you thought of NDT?
OP Max Hangs 05 Dec 2012
In reply to rlines:

Excuse mu ignorance, but what's NDT?
OP Max Hangs 05 Dec 2012
In reply to robaj:

*my
 Frank4short 05 Dec 2012
In reply to robaj: You probably should have covered this in uni if you're a recently qualified mech eng. though to enlighten you it stands for Non Destructive Testing. e.g. x-raying welds and that sort of thing.
OP Max Hangs 05 Dec 2012
In reply to robaj:

OK, so I read the wiki page! Have you worked in NDT or do you? How is/was it?
OP Max Hangs 05 Dec 2012
In reply to Frank4short:

Yeah, probably did! There's too many three letter acronyms in life :/
davo77 05 Dec 2012
In reply to robaj:
Hi mate
Just saw this & thought i would drop you a line.
NDT Non destructive testing is widely used on any metals as used in the industry.
Weather it be bridges, cruise ships or oil riggs "the favoured job!"