UKC

Trout Fishing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Removed User 13 Sep 2018

Does anyone on UKC fish for trout(using flies) I've done a bit over the years but when starting out I just tend to use any suitable looking fly at random.

I've often spent fruitless hours going through every fly in the box with nothing to show except bedraggled looking flies.

Has anyone got any guidance to offer regarding the choice of a suitable fly?

Thanks.

Sl@te Head 13 Sep 2018
In reply to Removed UserBoingBoing:

I fly fish though only been once this year.

I'm no expert but tend to get success with wet flies, classic ones such as the Butcher, March Brown have been pretty reliable, dark patterns have worked well for me for brown trout.

When abroad I do a bit of research online and also ask the locals and narrow it down to just a few options. I went fly fishing in the Faroe Islands last year, chatted to a local showed him my collection and he selected the ones I should use.....I didn't catch anything significant but it's a good way of working it all out.

When I retire I intend to spend a lot of my time fly fishing for trout, char, grayling and salmon.

Tight lines

Removed User 13 Sep 2018
In reply to Sl@te Head:

Thanks. I tend to use wet flies and in the past had success with nymphs.

Removed User 13 Sep 2018

You need to use flies that have the same look and size as whatever the trout are feeding on. It varies from place to place and during the season.

Best thing is to ask someone who is local, even better if they've just caught something.

felt 13 Sep 2018

I'd try to locate a copy of that J. R. Hartley book.

Tony Jones 13 Sep 2018
In reply to Removed User:

> You need to use flies that have the same look and size as whatever the trout are feeding on. It varies from place to place and during the season.

^ ^ This. Although I find that an approximation of size is more important than exact imitation.