UKC

What other jobs could a nurse do?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
anonymous123 18 Jan 2018

For various reasons, looking to leave my full time nursing job and go on the bank (work less shifts, when/where I like) and would like to try something new, but what else can a nurse do outside of healthcare? I have a nursing BSc. Little experience in any other role. 

thermal_t 18 Jan 2018
In reply to anonymous123:

Asking the a difficult question there.

What else can a nurse do? Probably not much.

What else can you do? Loads of things, depending on your strengths and if you're willing to retrain.

I left a job I absolutely hated and jumped into a job that couldn't be any further removed from what I was doing originally. It was a massive leap of faith though and intimidating at times, all I wish now though was that I'd done it years earlier as I couldn't be happier. Having said that, I'm kind of glad I did a job I hated for so long, as it makes me truly appreciate where I am now! Good luck! 

alx 18 Jan 2018

Move into management for drug or medical device development in either Industry (Pharma & Contract Research Organisations) or Professional Services within Universities (clinical trial research units “CTRU’s”, technology transfer offices or business development). Real world healthcare experience is a desirable criteria in those fields as it’s about translating an idea proven on a lab bench into something that is fit to be tested and further developed in humans.

If you want to stay close to the NHS then you could consider their R&D arm the NIHR. NIHR MedTechs (MICs) or CLAHRCs could have a local match for your chosen field.

webbo 18 Jan 2018