UKC

Wiping the world slate clean

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mypyrex 13 May 2020

Beyond managing my own bank account i have little knowledge of financial complexities. I find it very mind blowing to hear about the economic impact of Covid 19 with suggestions of economic collapse being the worst for hundreds of years.

What I can't understand(and I know it's a more complex situation than my brain can deal with) is, if ALL countries are in the same boat why can we not wipe the slate clean and start afresh when we're through the crisis

I know this is an over simplifi ation but I keep thinking of the following analogy:

Three people, A B and C. A owes B £10, B owes C £10 and C owes A £10. Thus, without, moving any money anywhere each respective "debt" can be written off.

I know there will be variations in the amounys owed but is my analogy logical.

No doubt some financial whizz kid will be along soon to enlighten me.

Graeme G 13 May 2020
In reply to mypyrex:

I’m not a financial wizz but my take is that post C-19 whoever can leverage the most influence via debt management will dominate world politics.

Why would you want to risk being governed by.....(fill in the blank)

Lurking Dave 13 May 2020
In reply to mypyrex:

Person A has made no preparations to deal with a pandemic. Person B has dicked around with policy settings and only realised lately that this is serious. Person C had plans in place, acted quickly and is well placed for recovery.

What motivation does person C have for returning to status quo?

OP mypyrex 13 May 2020
In reply to Lurking Dave:

> Person A has made no preparations to deal with a pandemic. Person B has dicked around with policy settings and only realised lately that this is serious. Person C had plans in place, acted quickly and is well placed for recovery.

> What motivation does person C have for returning to status quo?

I see your point. That's the problem, everyone for themselves