UKC

Learning photoshop CC

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tony Buckley 26 May 2021

I have the CC subscription that gives me access to Lightroom, which I'm no expert in but can generally faff around in until I get a pleasing result, and Photoshop.  I dipped in to Photoshop the other day and realised that my ignorance of it is profound.

So I intend, as a project for the rest of the year, to learn about it; what it can do, how I might do it, and so on.  I'm aware that it's a powerful program which can do many things and that while some of these may be useful to me others really won't be, and so I'd like to spend more time on things which bring a greater reward.  

Most of my photography at the moment seems to be either of landscape or things that don't run away, such as plants or buildings.

So before I get going, which will essentially be from a standing start, does the hive mind have any pointers?  I'm not asking for your secrets, more signposts of the 'go here, learn this, it's useful for such-and-such' type.

Learning is a lifelong thing.  Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

T.

laughitup 26 May 2021
In reply to Tony Buckley:

Got a couple of thoughts for you tony:

Firstly, don't be put off by the complication. PS is extremely powerful and is as complicated as you want to make it and no matter how much you learn there will always be new or different ways of achieving a similar task/effect. I have been using it for getting on for a decade and still learning new things all the time. 

Secondly, having something you want to achieve is the best way to learn. For example wanting to fix a specific thing on an image and then googling how to do it is much easier than sitting down and watching an unspecific tutorial just for the sake of learning x technique.