UKC

Climbing coaches

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Martino90 20 May 2022

Hi all,

I’m currently looking for a climbing coach, does anyone have any advise? Is it worth it?

I have been climbing for 3 1/2 years, I would like some coaching to highlight weaknesses and areas of improvements.

im based in Cheltenham but happy to travel where needed.

thank you,

Martino

henwardian 20 May 2022
In reply to Martino90:

This is a pretty random idea but I would guess that if you film yourself doing some climbing on some different routes and put it on UKC, you will get a load of pointers on what you are bad at for absolute free (at least that's the way it works for Franco Cookson) and that'll give you loads of things to go away and work on. I'm not even joking here (except for the Franco bit.... partially).

SFM 21 May 2022
In reply to Martino90:

I think it’s worth it if you are looking to achieve a certain grade or target certain types of climbing. If it’s more “to get a bit better” then perhaps look at group improvers sessions that some walls do( normally split up into grades).

I’ve only had a few coaching session(bought as a present) and mostly learned new training techniques to improve finger/arm strength. I had been climbing for about 20 years by then so was already highly aware of my strengths and weaknesses 😁

mike123 21 May 2022
In reply to Martino90:

I didn’t end up having a session with her but did corresponded with Katherine Schirmacher ( website - love to climb ) old mates from Sheffield concur she is very good . I think finding somebody who you “ click” with is important . A couple of different people who coach around here wouldn’t be for me but had I got sone coaching I’m sure Katherine would have been . 

seankenny 21 May 2022
In reply to Martino90: