UKC

Experiences of being a female climber

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 oraneym 27 Feb 2013
HI!

I am currently a student on a research masters. In an attempt to combine work and play I am doing a research piece on the experiences of female climbers/walkers/mountaineers/boulderers. I am wanting to know if anyone has any gendered stories of being a female in the mountains and any positive (or negative) experiences you have had.

Particularly if anyone does have any experiences of sexism, I would be really interested to hear them.

I am currently just trying to gain an anecdotal selection so anything anyone has would be greatly appreciated

You can either post on here or drop me an email at olivia.mason@live.com

Pero 27 Feb 2013
In reply to oraneym: Women generally find it harder to pee when in the mountains and I know several women who find this unfair!
 Lucy Wallace 27 Feb 2013
In reply to oraneym:

I encounter far less sexism in the climbing world than in other walks of life. However, one "gendered" experience occurred many eons ago when I advertised for a female climbing partner on this site. I wanted to climb with another lass for two reasons, one to bypass any potential nonsense/crossed wires with meeting strangers on an internet forum, and two, I thought it would be good for my climbing prgression to climb with a female peer, with no machismo associated.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, no females replied, only several dozen males. After weeding out the creepiest I did go climbing with one, and of course despite his protestations at the outset that although he was a male he was only looking for a climbing partner, after a couple of sessions at the wall I had to fend him off.

I never did find that female climbing partner. I gave up and decided to go with the flow. Eventually married a climbing instructor.
 Kemics 27 Feb 2013
In reply to oraneym: