UKC

Longevity Anniversary

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Following on from Chris Craggs forum thread ‘Lifers’.

I started climbing exactly 50 years ago to the day and was hoping to get out today to repeat my first routes, unfortunately snow in the Peak this morning stopped play. I’m sure there are many here on UKC that have been climbing for much longer?

Here’s looking forward to a good few more years cragging, but how many?

Pedro50 10 Mar 2023
In reply to Christheclimber:

I started 51 years ago in 1972. I'd hate to try and lead Diamond Crack today in Adidas running shoes.

Chris_Mellor 10 Mar 2023

I have been climbing for more than 55 years, starting in N Wales at the Plas Gwynant outdoor centre as a pupil there.

Gary Gibson 11 Mar 2023
In reply to Christheclimber:conning up to 60 for me

Chris Craggs Global Crag Moderator 11 Mar 2023

I don't think I put Genesis on the 'Lifers' thread but it was 30th July 1965 - Brimham Rocks, so coming on 58 years for me,

Chris

Post edited at 10:28
In reply to Pedro50:

> I started 51 years ago in 1972. I'd hate to try and lead Diamond Crack today in Adidas running shoes.

It was Woolworths plimsolls for me, tying on around the waist, and waist belays.

jcw 11 Mar 2023
In reply to Chris Craggs:That would be about the time I did the Diables Arête and Spigolo Giallo, when on leave from Oman. But then I did not start climbing until 1962 when I was 28. Did my last route just before  Covid. But the love of the hills and mountains never dies. 

Dave Hewitt 11 Mar 2023

He's a walker not a climber, but my friend Gordon Ingall was recently up Helvellyn again and that made it 65 consecutive years with at least one ascent. There can't have been many people who have managed that for a Munro or Munro-equivalent.

Michael Hood 11 Mar 2023

My "50th" is early in July 2024 when I hope to do my first climb Needle Ridge (VD) again.

Howard J 12 Mar 2023