UKC

Please help save a climbing club!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Climbing1996 01 Jul 2020

We recently found out that there are plans to dissolve our climbing club - University of London Mountaineering Club (ULMC). 

As a  club with 75 years worth of history, and one of very few London clubs to trad climb, it would be detrimental to have our club dissolved and funding cut.

I know that some of you will know firsthand the value a climbing club can bring, perhaps been part of our club once or you may even have stayed at one of our huts - Caseg Fraith.

Please help and save a student climbing club amongst other University of London clubs and societies by signing the petition below.

Thank you! 

https://www.change.org/p/university-of-london-collegiate-council-protect-th...

Neil Williams 01 Jul 2020
In reply to Climbing1996:

I know you'd lose funding (which when I was a student was not a huge sum), but could you become your own independent club affiliated to the BMC instead?

Post edited at 09:05
OP Climbing1996 01 Jul 2020
In reply to Neil Williams:

Yes we are exploring this as an option. I think for us it would be devastating to lose the funding as this lets us run affordable trips as well as pays for any guides and training courses at a affordable price. It gives an opportunity for students from low income backgrounds to access rock climbing which is especially expensive and has many other barriers in London. 

I will try to posts any updates. 

OP Climbing1996 01 Jul 2020

You can read more about the club's history here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1EtPMY1H_8mfOpbzAy3rtt5hM0x4IajZc/view?fbcl... 

tehmarks 01 Jul 2020