UKC

Advice Needed

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Brookesbaker 21 Sep 2019

I have been taking my son indoor climbing since he was 5, he is now 10. I can only take him once a week for around 4-5 hours on a Sunday. It got to the stage where he would clearly benefit from some guidance and teaching on movement / technique in order to move on and really progress his natural ability.  I therefore enrolled him on a weekly course at the local indoor wall. Problem is because he has never belayed before he has had to join the total novice course. He has now been doing this course for 8 weeks but from what I can see, due to group size he does about 6 climbs a sessions, although he is formally being taught to belay. I am worried that the net result of this is that he is now doing far less actual climbing, which is what he loves, and is not climbing with kids who will actually inspire him to push himself, progress and move on.  My question therefore is should I just pull him out and go back to climbing together and maybe looking at spending the course fee on one or two sessions with one to one tuition or just keep him on the course so that presumably he moves through the formal steps to presumably get the NICAS qualification etc etc.  Any advice really welcome 🙏🏽 

marsbar 21 Sep 2019
In reply to Brookesbaker:

Can he reliably belay now?  I'd have a chat with the staff and see if he can move group.  I'm not sure on the working of the scheme but I'd assume it is possible to jump to a more suitable group at some point?  

1:1 occasionally and climbing with you in between might also be a good alternative.